COP25 – 5 additional countries join CNC

By 11 December 2019 February 26th, 2020 No Comments

Meeting of CNC members at COP25

At COP25 in Madrid, the Carbon Neutrality Coalition welcomed new members and hosted a ministerial-level event to discuss plans toward carbon neutrality and next steps for the Coalition.

Five additional countries joined the CNC, bringing total membership to 29:

  • Fiji
  • Switzerland
  • Republic of Korea
  • Monaco
  • Ireland

In attendance at the event:

  • Frank Bainimarama, Prime Minister, Fiji
  • James Shaw, Minister for Climate Change, New Zealand
  • João Pedro Matos Fernandes, Minister of Environment, Portugal
  • Shinjirō Koizumi, Minister of the Environment, Japan
  • Carlos Manuel Rodriguez, Minister of Environment and Energy, Costa Rica
  • Richard Bruton, Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment, Ireland
  • Dan Jørgensen, Minister for Climate, Energy and Utilities, Denmark
  • Cho Myung-Rae, Minister of Environment, Republic of Korea
  • Marc Chardonnens, State Secretary, Federal Office for the Environment, Switzerland
  • Claire Perry O’Neill, COP26 President designate, UK
  • Moderator: Laurence Tubiana